Do you want diversity or do you want inclusion?

Supermahrio
2 min readApr 15, 2021

There has been an increase in some organisations (like schools and education institutions) adding a clear statement of intent to recruit more racially diverse staff.

It’s a positive step.

However, with these postings, it is responsible to understand that ‘diversity’ and ‘inclusion’ are not the same thing. Simply hiring ‘diversely’ and not addressing the existing environment is irresponsible leadership.

Therefore a few things to consider:

1. What has been done to make the environment welcoming of these identities?

2. How have the staff body been made to be aware of the need of this representation and desire to intentionally invite these candidates?

3. What efforts have been taken to prevent and mitigate any discriminatory comments such as (but not limited to); ’token hire’; ’affIrmative action hire’, and; ’politically correct hire’?

Furthermore, what are the accountability measures for; those who commit offence; those who receive and endure the comments, and; the environment itself?

The answers to these questions and the balance between reflecting on their implications (for all staff), & wanting to give immediate reassurances (to exonerate the well meaning of specific ‘persons’ or the institution at large), are clear indicators of intention.

So when that ‘do you have any questions for us’ part of the interview comes up, they should be prepared to be asked, interrogated and judged on their answer.

--

--

Supermahrio

I Cook 👨🏾‍🍳, I Intersect🧔🏾🏳️‍🌈, I Culture👂🏾🤭👀🤔, I Wander 🌍🌎🌏, I Black 🇯🇲✊🏾🖤, I learn 👨🏾‍🎓, I Educate 👨🏾‍🏫, I spin 🚴🏾‍♂️, I podcast 🎙